Posts Tagged ‘former lovers trope’

Jett-300x300

Here’s another trilogy that I’ve heard so much about, I could have sworn I’d already drooled over it. But apparently not ’cause I can’t find it in the archives anywhere, which is weird because Lily Harlem is another author Susan follows.

The series is the Mattress Music series, and it’s three books, and it’s old. 2010 and 2011 release dates. Really, we are overdue to bring it to your attention!

So here goes.

The description of the first one sounds like it’s music-as-fan, which is fine. Look at Nick and Norah for how music can be a soundtrack. But given that the other two books in the series are more directly about men rockers and the women who encounter them, I’m kinda skeptical that the first book is so lacking rockers. I bet he’s there.

Book Two is an old flame trope, and Book Three is about a threesome (how fitting that it’s book three!). The only issue I have is in the last line of the third book, where it sounds like the woman is the band’s manager, but it’s a throwaway line, and maybe manage is meant differently. Only one way to find out!

These were originally published by Ellora’s Cave, and didn’t they close? If so, I hope Lily has the rights back and will republish them– and will share them with us here at The Rock of Pages. (hint!)

Jett-300x300

Who’s surprised to see the first in a series? This one sounds like fun, though. A LOT of fun.

In this sizzling and hilarious contemporary e-book romance, pop sensation Ivy Hudson returns to her small town to face her ex. Only trouble is, she made her Taylor-Swift-like career with the hit song “Size Matters”—and the football hero has had to live it down ever since.

Five years ago, high school sweethearts Ivy and Blake’s relationship imploded and both their lives were changed forever. Ivy became a rock star and Blake lost not only his dreams of a successful NFL career, but his reputation. Ivy’s angry song about their breakup, called “Size Matters,” hit the top of the charts and Blake became a national laughingstock. He’s salvaged his career and returned to Rosewood to be the high school football coach, regaining his status as town hero and leading the boys to the state championships.

When a tornado whips through town and destroys the high school gymnasium and stadium, a committee is formed to help rebuild and plan some charity fundraisers. Blake’s grandmother requests that Ivy return to Rosewood for the events. Forced back together for the good of their hometown and their careers, Ivy and Blake have no choice but to put aside their differences, stop running from their pasts, and finally face the music.

For fans of Kristen Proby and Colette Auclair, Facing the Music hits a perfect balance between small-town romance and big-time success. Follow Ivy and Blake as they fall back in love and figure out what does matter in the end…

Does this sound like fun, or what? Totally up my alley.

The second book in the series is supposed to come out in March, and there’s a firefighter on the cover (well, his abs are on the cover anyway), so I’m thinking the Rock Fiction ends with this first in the series. Such a shame — but on the other hand, it’s not following the recent trend of putting the characters through all sorts of hell. Get in, get out, fall in love, the reader swoons. Isn’t that how it’s supposed to be?